Technology News: Google Meet is getting plenty of new features that will make it easier for users to manage and direct sessions. Users may now add up to 25 co-hosts each meeting, limit who can share their screen, send chat messages, silence all users, and stop meetings using Google Meet. Google said that it is adding numerous highly-requested features to its video chat app Meet, including meeting moderating controls.
It’s important to keep in mind that not all features will be available to everyone. Whether you’re using Meet as a regular user or as part of a Google Workspace team will determine which controls are available to you.
All users will now be able to assign up to 25 co-hosts per meeting, who will have access to the meeting’s host controls. This will enable them to limit the number of users who can share their screen and send messages. They will also be able to mute all participants with a single click, terminate the conference, and regulate who can enter the meeting.
Assigning co-hosts was previously exclusively available to Google Workspace for Education subscribers. For Google Workspace subscribers, Google Meet is also introducing new Quick Access settings. By default, the new feature will be turned on. Meetings won’t be able to start until the host joins if it’s turned off.
Users will also be able to exclude anonymous users from joining meetings or only allow invited participants to join without asking, ensuring that only those who are supposed to be there are. The new features will be available on the web and Android starting August 16th, and on iOS starting August 30th.
Google will add a setting for admins in the coming weeks that determines whether the Host Management settings are turned on or off by default.